image image
image image image image
image image image
Bienfaisance

Child Haven International

Child Haven International est un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré au Canada depuis plus de 20 ans et qui s’inspire des idéaux pacifistes du réformateur social Mahatma Gandhi. L’organisme se consacre à l’aide aux femmes et aux enfants nécessiteux de l’Inde. Une première maison d’accueil a été ouverte à Gujarat en 1985 et une deuxième, à Hyderabad, l’année suivante. Depuis lors Child Haven International s’est établi au Bangladesh, au Népal et au Tibet.


Société historique du comté de Brome

C’est en 1898 que la Société historique du comté de Brome a tenu sa première réunion officielle à Knowlton. En 1903, la Société a pris possession de l’ancienne Académie Knowlton pour y loger son musée. Au fil des ans, quatre autres bâtiments furent acquis, dont l’ancienne école d’une seule pièce logée dans un bâtiment en pierres, et la Société fit construire deux autres édifices. La Société dont la collection compte plusieurs milliers d’artéfacts, des livres et de documents rares, veille aussi à l’entretien de quatre monuments répartis dans le comté. L’été, la Société présente plusieurs expositions et diverses autres activités. On compte parmi ses membres venant des quatre coins du continent des amateurs de l’histoire des Townshippers et des Cantons-de-l’Est.


Colby-Curtis Museum
Stanstead Historical Society

Housed in Carrollcroft, a beautiful granite mansion built in 1856 for Charles Carroll Colby, the Colby-Curtis Museum is devoted to the interpretation of the history of the border regions of Stanstead County, with a special focus on Victorian life and society. Visitors can view the original furnishings of the house, as well as temporary displays on various topics of regional and historical interest. The museum is also home to the Stanstead Historical Society, which preserves major archives and collections that have been gathered since the society’s establishment in 1929.


Musée Colby-Curtis
Société historique de Stanstead

Logé dans Carrollcroft, une magnifique demeure en granit construite en 1856 pour Charles Carroll Colby, le Musée Colby-Curtis se consacre à l’interprétation de l’histoire locale et régionale des régions frontalières du Comté de Stanstead, avec une attention particulière aux modes de vie de la société victorienne. Les visiteurs peuvent apprécier le mobilier et les accessoires d’origine de la maison, de même que des expositions temporaires consacrées à divers sujets d’intérêt historique ou régional. Le musée est également le siège social de la Société historique de Stanstead, qui conserve d’importantes archives et collections, réunies depuis 1929.


Le Centre d’action bénévole R.H. Rediker

Situé dans une ancienne école élémentaire de Stanstead, le Centre d’action bénévole R.H. Rediker offre une multitude de services sociaux animés par des bénévoles, notamment la popote roulante, l’accompagnement-transport pour les ainés et les soins à domicile, ainsi qu’un terrain de jeu pour les enfants d’âge préscolaire. Le Centre tient aussi des cliniques de prélèvement de tension artérielle, des journées thérapeutiques pour ainés, ainsi que des banques alimentaires et vestimentaires pour les familles et les individus. En somme, un endroit animé qui remplit bien sa mission « de promouvoir le bénévolat… et de répondre aux besoins de la collectivité ».

 

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

image image
image image image image
image image image

 

Charity

Child Haven International

Inspired by the ideals of pacifist and social reformer Mahatma Gandhi, Child Haven International was established as a registered charity in Canada more than twenty years ago to assist needy children and women in India.


Brome County Historical Society

In 1898 the Brome County Historical Society held its first official meeting in Knowlton. In 1903 the Society acquired the old Knowlton Academy for its museum. It eventually acquired four other buildings, including a one-room stone schoolhouse, and constructed two buildings. The Society owns thousands of artifacts, preserves hundreds of rare books and records, and maintains four monuments in different parts of the county. It also hosts summer exhibitions and various other activities. Members include Townshippers and Townships history buffs from all over the continent.


Colby-Curtis Museum
Stanstead Historical Society

Housed in Carrollcroft, a beautiful granite mansion built in 1856 for Charles Carroll Colby, the Colby-Curtis Museum is devoted to the interpretation of the history of the border regions of Stanstead County, with a special focus on Victorian life and society. Visitors can view the original furnishings of the house, as well as temporary displays on various topics of regional and historical interest. The museum is also home to the Stanstead Historical Society, which preserves major archives and collections that have been gathered since the society’s establishment in 1929.


The R.H. Rediker Volunteer Center

Located in a former elementary school in Stanstead, the R.H. Rediker Volunteer Center offers a wide variety of volunteer-driven social services. It provides meals on wheels and accompanied transport to elders and shut-ins. It also hosts a blood pressure clinic and a health day for seniors. It runs a playgroup for preschool-aged children. In addition, it offers clothing and food bank services for families and individuals.  All in all, it is a lively place that fulfills its mission “to promote volunteer work … [and] to provide a response to the needs of our sector.”

 

 

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image